Message from the new regional director of PWAC British Columbia

Hello PWAC members.  My name is Heidi Turner and I am the new regional director for PWAC British Columbia. I’m excited to represent BC and our members’ interests on the PWAC Board of Directors.

I hope to provide a strong voice for all BC members. My thank you to Kim Lear for all her hard work last year. I enjoyed communicating with her (even if I didn’t get to actually meet her), and I know she worked hard as BC’s regional director. My thank you also to Susan Carr and Terri Perrin for putting their names forward for BC. It’s heartening to see so many people enthusiastic about PWAC and about representing BC.

I’ll be spending the next few days getting accustomed to the new position and the ins and outs of being on the Board of Directors as well as setting some goals for myself and PWAC BC. I encourage all of you to e-mail me with your thoughts, questions, ideas and concerns. If I don’t know the answers, I’ll do what I can to find out for you.

In the meantime, we do have a small matter at hand. A recent change has been made to extend the term for a regional director from one to two years. I have been given the option of either a one or two-year term. My understanding is that there has been some turnover in the position lately, and my feeling is that for the sake a stability, a two-year term is best. I recognize, however, that people voted for me based on a one-year term and may have concerns about it being extended by a year. Therefore, I have not yet committed to a two-year term. If people feel strongly about this either for a one-year or two-year term, please e-mail me by July 5 and let me know your thoughts. I won’t make a commitment for a few days, to allow time for members to contact me.

Also, I would like to know if any of our members currently sit on any national PWAC committees. If you currently sit on a national committee, please let me know. One of my goals is to ensure that we are adequately represented on the national committees, and I would like to know where we currently stand in terms of representation. So, if you are on a national committee and can let me know by July 5 which committee you’re on, I would appreciate it.

Thank you for all your support. It’s an honour to represent BC PWAC members on the Board of Directors. I look forward to working with our two chapters—BC and Victoria—as well as our rural members to represent our interests. Please feel free to contact me at heiditurnerwriter@gmail.com.

Have a happy Canada Day! Heidi Turner

Leave a Reply

